Aso National Table Tennis Championship Serves Off In Abuja

Aso National Table Tennis Championship Serves Off In Abuja


The 15th Aso Table Tennis Championship will serve off later today with no fewer than 300 players competing for honours at the National tournament.


The annual championship which holds in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja will feature competitions in cadet, junior and senior categories.


Following the arrival of the players, officials and other delegates on Wednesday, hostilities will begin today at the Gymnastics Hall, Package B of the MKO Abiola National Stadium, Abuja.


Speaking at the press conference ahead of the commencement of the tournament, Chairman, Aso Table Tennis Championship, Dr Olusegun Ajuwon, said the organizers are delighted to stage the event again this year following the excitement and success of the last edition in 2021.


“Our intention is to keep the tournament going because, before it was just fun, it was just friends that gathered but then we extended to schools around Abuja before we extended to states around the F.C.T , and now it is Federal , so we don’t intend to stop .”


The host also revealed that mouthwatering prizes are on offer for winners in the senior, junior and cadet categories, adding that all the players will be accommodated and fed by the organizers for the period of the tournament organized in conjunction with the Nigerian Table Tennis Federation.


Also speaking at the press conference, President of the Nigeria Table Tennis Federation, Engineer Ishaku Tikon lauded Aso Table Tennis Club’s efforts towards the development of game in the country, stating that the federation will continue to throw its weight behind the tournament.


The sensational  Matthew Kuti , who won the MVP at the last edition alongside other rising youngsters will ruffling shoulders in the cadet category when the championship gets underway, while Azeez Solanke and Fatimo Bello will hope to defend the titles they won last year .


The finals and closing ceremony of the tournament is expected to hold on Saturday, May 7 while players and officials will depart for their various state on Sunday May 8 .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *